Graduate Students

Abureli Aierken Abureli Aierken
Ph.D. Student
M.S. Geology, University of Camerino
aaierken@uh.edu

Advisor: Dr. Hyongki Lee
Topic: Downscaling GRACE signal using SAR and altimetry data
Andrea Albright Andrea Albright
M.S. Student
M.S. Ocean Ecology & Biogeochemistry, Oregon State University
aalbright@uh.edu

Advisor: Dr. Craig Glennie
Topic: Incoming wave motion and nearshore processes using lidar
silhouette Cami Barlow
M.S. Student
B.S. Geology, University of Utah
mcbarlow@uh.edu

Advisor: Dr. Craig Glennie
Topic: Lidar
no_portrait Chi-Hung Chang
Ph.D. Student
M.S. Geomatics, National Cheng Kung University
cchang21@uh.edu

Advisor: Dr. Hyongki Lee
Topic: Flood forecasting using satellite altimetry and modeling
Minshan Cui Minshan Cui
Ph.D. Student
M.S. Electrical Engineering, Mississippi State University
mcui2@uh.edu

Advisor: Dr. Saurabh Prasad
Topic: Hyperspectral image analysis, sparse representation, subspace leaning, statistical pattern recognition
no_image Ziyue Dang
Ph.D. Student
B.S., Chang'an University
zdang2@uh.edu

Advisor: Dr. Craig Glennie
Topic: Using lidar and photogrammetry for nearshore applications
Nima Ekhtari Nima Ekhtari
Ph.D. Student
M.S. Geomatics Engineering, Purdue University
nekhtari@uh.edu

Advisor: Dr. Craig Glennie
Topic: Object detection/recognition/mapping using lidar, laser scanner data accuracy assessment
Jielian Guo Jielian Guo
M.S. Student
M.S., Chongqing University
jguo7@uh.edu

Advisor: Dr. Saurabh Prasad
Topic: Spectral-spatial classification of hyperspectral images
No Image Veronica Guzman
M.S. Student
B.S. Geophysics, University of Houston
vvguzman@uh.edu

Advisor: Dr. Guoquan Wang
Topic: Analyzing beach erosion at Quintana Beach, Freeport, TX, using lidar and GPS data
Timothy Kearns Timothy "Jak" Kearns
Ph.D. Student
M.S., University of Texas at Arlington
tjkearns@uh.edu

Advisor: Dr. Guoquan Wang
Topic: Land subsidence in the Houston Metropolitan Area, TX, and linkages to ground water withdrawal and drought conditions
Donghwan Kim Donghwan Kim
Ph.D. Student
M.S. Defence Geographic Information, Cranfield University
dkim32@uh.edu

Advisor: Dr. Hyongki Lee
Topic: Application of InSAR to detect land deformation
Yi-An Lin Yi-An Lin
Ph.D. Student
B.S, National Taiwan University
ylin51@uh.edu

Advisor: Dr. Guoquan Wang
Topic: Ground motion of Long Point Fault, Houston, TX, from GPS and lidar
Hanlin Liu Hanlin Liu
Ph.D. Student
M.S., Guizhou University
hliu30@uh.edu

Advisor: Dr. Guoquan Wang
Topic: Establishing a stable geodetic reference frame within the COCONet footprint, and providing positional time series and velocities of all permanent GPS stations within the COCONet footprint for the public
Andrew Lyda Andrew Lyda
Ph.D. Student
M.S. Earth & Environmental Sciences, Wright State University
awlyda@uh.edu

Advisor: Dr. Craig Glennie
Topic: Remote sensing applications for Earth science and tectonic studies
Modurodoluwa Okeowo Modurodoluwa "Dolu" Okeowo
Ph.D. Student
M.S. Geomatics Engineering, Purdue University
maokeowo@uh.edu

Advisor: Dr. Hyongki Lee
Topic: Diffusive flow modeling and monitoring of Earth surface displacement of the Niger Delta using InSAR and satellite altimetry
Arman_Razaee Arman Rezaee
Ph.D. Student
B.S. Surveying Engineering Technology, Geomatics College of NCC
arezaee@uh.edu

Advisor: Dr. Craig Glennie
Topic: Lidar
Zhiyue Sun Zhiyue Sun
Ph.D. Student
M.S. Electrcal Engineering, Harbin Institute of Technology
zsun11@uh.edu

Advisor: Dr. Hyongki Lee
Topic: Glacier motion estimation using InSAR and offset tracking method
No_Pic Amirhossein Tayyebi
Ph.D. Student
M.A. Geography, University of Iowa
atayyebi@uh.edu

Advisor: Dr. Craig Glennie
Topic: Fusing lidar and hyperspectral data for object detection
Xiao Wang Xiao Wang
Ph.D. Student
M.S. Information Engineering, Harbin Institute of Technology
xwang47@uh.edu

Advisor: Dr. Craig Glennie
Topic: Integration of differing sensors, fusion of multi-sensor data
Hao Wu Hao Wu
Ph.D. Student
B.S. Electrical & Information Engineering, University of Electronic Science & Technology of China
hwu15@uh.edu

Advisor: Dr. Saurabh Prasad
Topic: Development of statistical machine learning methods for hyperspectral image analysis
Lin Xiong Lin Xiong
Ph.D. Student
M.S. Geophysics, Institute of Tibetan Plateau Research, Chinese Academy of Sciences
lxiong2@uh.edu

Advisor: Dr. Guoquan Wang
Topic: Studying the Slumgullion, CO, and Huangtupo, Chinda, landslides using lidar data
Linqiang Yang Linqiang Yang
Ph.D. Student
M.S. Geophysical Prospecting & Information Technology, China University of Geosciences, Beijing
lyang18@uh.edu

Advisor: Dr. Guoquan Wang
Topic: Subsidence and sea-level change through tide gauge and closely-spaced GPS data along the Caribbean coast
Jiangbo Yu Jiangbo Yu
Ph.D. Student
M.S. Geophysics, University of Houston
jyu7@uh.edu

Advisor: Dr. Guoquan Wang
Topic: Ground deformation in the Gulf of Mexico region using GPS
Yuhang Zhang Yuhang Zhang
Ph.D. Student
M.S. Information & Communication Engineering, Harbin Institute of Technology
yzhang87@uh.edu

Advisor: Dr. Saurabh Prasad
Topic: Machine learning methods with applications in multi-source remote sensing data fusion for classification
Xiong Zhou Xiong Zhou
Ph.D. Student
B.S. Electrical Engineering, Harbin Institute of Technology
xzhou14@uh.edu

Advisor: Dr. Saurabh Prasad
Topic: Signal and image processing, hyperspectral imagery analysis, active learning, wavelet
Xin Zhou Xin Zhou
Ph.D. Student
M.S., China University of Petroleum
xzhou20@uh.edu

Advisor: Dr. Guoquan Wang
Topic: Coastal erosion in the Gulf Coast using GPS techniques
Xinxiang Zhu Xinxiang Zhu
M.S. Student
B.S. Geophysics, Institute of Disaster Prevention
xzhu123@uh.edu

Advisor: Dr. Guoquan Wang
Topic: Lidar applications in natural hazards studies